It’s bad enough when you are seriously injured in a crash of any kind. But when the driver leaves the scene, that is the definition of adding insult to injury. That is why law enforcement is working on programs to help reduce or solve the problem.
In Florida, 25% of all crashes in 2016 were hit-and-run accidents. To be more exact, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles listed 99,004 hit-and-run accidents in the state. Amazingly, a significant number of drivers would not face charges or even receive a ticket if they stayed at the scene after a crash. But by leaving the scene of an accident, even where that driver was not at fault, makes that fleeing driver subject to arrest and imprisonment. As an example, Florida law provides that leaving the scene of an accident when someone has died is a first-degree felony punishable by a $10,000 fine and up to 30 years in prison. Even with this penalty, the numbers of hit and run accidents continue to rise.
Hit and Run Accidents in Miami